StrikeCast

Best Lightning Tracker Apps for iPhone: What Each One Actually Detects

The dedicated lightning apps on the US App Store, compared on price, maintenance and one thing most comparisons skip: whether the app will tell you where its lightning data comes from.

Start here

Most lightning apps look identical in the App Store. Same dark map, same orange bolts, same promise of real-time alerts. The differences that matter are not in the screenshots.

This page compares the apps whose main job is lightning, using facts you can check yourself: what the free tier includes, what the paid tier costs, when the app was last updated, and whether the listing names its data source. All figures were re-checked on 23 September 2026 against Apple's public App Store API.

*Safety note: every app here reports strikes that have already been detected. None of them forecast, and none replace an official warning. Follow the National Weather Service, and go indoors when you hear thunder, and know the 30-30 rule.*

Quick answers

If you want to stop reading now:

  • Largest user base and longest track record — My Lightning Tracker & Alerts. About 66,000 ratings and maintained since 2016. Nothing below is an argument against it.
  • One app for all weather — WeatherBug or MyRadar. If lightning is one of several things you track, a dedicated app is an extra icon solving a problem your weather app already partly solves.
  • A data source you can check — Lightning Tracker & Radar Map, or StrikeCast. These are the only two listings in the set that name where their lightning comes from.
  • Distance to the nearest strike as the main number — StrikeCast. Most apps show a map of strikes and leave the distance in a tooltip. To estimate it without any app, count the seconds between flash and thunder.
  • Looking back at a storm after it passed — StrikeCast counts the flashes around a saved place over the last 24 hours free, and over 7 or 30 days on its paid tier, with a PDF or spreadsheet you can send on. Of the six listings compared below, its nearest rival on this is a paid 24-hour history.

The comparison

Ten search terms were run against the US App Store on 2 August 2026 through Apple's public search API, keeping the top ten results for each: *lightning tracker, lightning distance, strike tracker, lightning strike map, lightning alert, lightning map, lightning radar, thunderstorm tracker, lightning near me,* and *storm radar*. The apps below are the ones whose core purpose is lightning. General weather apps are covered further down.

One result worth flagging: RadarScope, which is often recommended for this, appeared in none of the ten searches. It is a professional radar tool, not a lightning app.

AppFree tierPaidStrike historyUpdatedData source, as stated in its listing
My Lightning Tracker & AlertsFull app, with ads$4.99 one-time (separate Pro app)Hotspots — where strikes happen most often2026-09-15Not stated
Lightning Tracker & Radar MapLive map, storm zonesSubscription — 24-hour history, heatmap, NOAA SPC forecast context24 hours, on the paid tier2026-09-21NOAA GOES GLM + EUMETSAT MTG-I1 LI
Lightning Tracker My Radar MapMapSubscriptionNot stated2024-09-13Not stated
Lightning Tracker (was Lightning Tracker & Radar)Map, limitedSubscriptionNot stated2026-09-09Not stated
Lightning Tracker & Live RadarMap, limitedSubscriptionHotspots — where storms happen often2026-01-27Not stated
StrikeCast: Lightning TrackerNearest-strike distance, free alerts, last 24 hours of historySubscription — trend, no data delay, 7- and 30-day history with export, 10 saved places24 hours free; 7 or 30 days on the paid tier2026-09-22NOAA GOES satellite
Apple iTunes Lookup API, US storefront, re-checked 23 September 2026 (first published 2 August 2026). Prices and update dates change — check the listing before relying on a figure. One app in the set has not shipped an update since September 2024, and one renamed itself from Lightning Tracker & Radar to Lightning Tracker since the first check. The history column reports what each listing describes; StrikeCast's entry comes from its own What's New for version 1.7.0 of 22 September 2026, because its description text has not been rewritten yet.

Where the lightning actually comes from

Lightning apps do not all see the same lightning. Three detection methods are in common use, and the difference decides what an app can honestly tell you.

Satellites such as NOAA's Geostationary Lightning Mapper watch a whole hemisphere from orbit. They detect total lightning, including the many flashes that never reach the ground, and coverage is even everywhere in view — over open ocean as well as over a city. The trade-off is precision: geolocation places a flash within roughly 8 to 14 kilometres, so an honest satellite-fed app rounds the distance it shows rather than implying accuracy it does not have. There is a longer explainer on how GOES-GLM detects lightning from space.

Ground sensor networks triangulate the radio pulse a strike emits. They can place a cloud-to-ground strike within a few hundred metres, which is far better. The trade-off is coverage: they only see well where the operator has built sensors, and the good commercial networks charge for access.

Volunteer networks such as Blitzortung use the same physics with hobbyist receivers. Coverage depends on how many people near you have built one.

None of this is visible in a screenshot. It is why the same storm can put a strike on one app's map and nothing on another's.

Which makes the next fact the most useful one on this page. Of the six listings compared above, only two name a data source at all. The rest describe features at length without saying where the lightning comes from — one of them across 3,874 characters. That is a statement about the listings, not an accusation about the apps: an app that does not advertise its source may still use an excellent one. But if you want to check, only two let you.

Common complaints in the reviews we sampled

Written one-star reviews on the US App Store, read in June 2026. Only three of these apps have enough written US reviews to sample; the newer listings have too few to draw anything from. One-star reviewers are a self-selected group and this says nothing about how common these problems are.

The themes that recurred:

  • Alerts that never arrived. One reviewer reports paying for a subscription, then watching lightning strike in front of them with no notification. Another reports six months in central Florida without the app registering a strike.
  • Geofences that miss in both directions. Alerts for storms a state away despite a small radius set — and, on a different app, no alerts at all.
  • Ads over the map. On the free tier of the market leader: an advertisement taking over the map with no obvious way back.
  • No legend. Coloured dots on a map with nothing explaining what the colours mean.

If you just want one weather app

Search for a lightning tracker and the store will also show you WeatherBug (about 2.18 million ratings), MyRadar (about 1.08 million), Clime (about 1.05 million) and The Weather Channel's Storm Radar. They are not in the table because lightning is one layer among many for them, not the product.

For a lot of people they are the better answer. One app covering forecast, radar, warnings and lightning beats two apps, and their scale buys reliability a small app cannot easily match.

The case for a dedicated app is narrower. A general weather app answers where the storm is. During a storm the question is usually how close the nearest strike is, and whether it is getting closer. If that distinction does not matter to you, take the big app.

Which to choose

By situation, rather than a ranking:

  • You want the safe, established choice — My Lightning Tracker & Alerts. Nine years of updates and by far the largest body of user experience behind it. Pay the $4.99 for Pro if the ads bother you.
  • You want lightning inside a full weather app — WeatherBug or MyRadar.
  • You want to know where the data comes from — Lightning Tracker & Radar Map or StrikeCast, the two that say. Both are new and small. Both are free to try.
  • You want one number: how far away was that strike — StrikeCast puts the nearest-strike distance on the main screen, in miles, with free alerts for saved places and the last 24 hours of history around each one. The approaching or moving-away trend, the longer history windows and the exportable report are on its paid tier. You can also check lightning near you in a browser first, without installing anything.

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from a public source you can open yourself. App Store data was first read from Apple's public iTunes Lookup API on 2 August 2026 and re-read on 23 September 2026; ratings, prices and update dates change, so re-check the listing before relying on any of them.

See the live distance to the nearest strike and get free alerts when lightning approaches — powered by NOAA satellite data. Never shared, never tracked.

Check lightning in your city

See live distance, trend, and seasonal context for these areas, or check lightning near you.

Frequently asked

What is the best lightning tracker app for iPhone?

There is no single answer this page can support. My Lightning Tracker & Alerts has by far the largest user base and the longest track record. If checking the data source matters to you, only two listings in the category name one. All of them are free to download, so trying is cheaper than deciding from a list.

Do lightning tracker apps work without paying?

Every app here is free to download, and each gates something behind a purchase or subscription. What is gated varies a lot — advertisements, alert radius, radar layers, or strike history — so check what the free tier actually does before assuming it covers you.

Can a lightning app replace an official weather warning?

No. Lightning apps report strikes that have already been detected. They do not forecast and they are not warnings. Follow the National Weather Service or your national weather service, and move indoors when you hear thunder regardless of what any app shows.

More guides on the StrikeCast lightning safety hub.